Lifestyle

Christmas Tag!

It’s that time of year again! Christmas is like tomorrow only a few weeks away! We’ve been decorating, baking all of the cookies, and Christmas-fying everything we can! And even though I live in Florida where snow doesn’t exist and I literally wore flip flops and shorts the other day, I am still feeling the Christmas Spirit! I want to share that same spirit with you with this tag! The Christmas Tag is… well, a tag all about Christmas!

I got this from Jenn over at ThatGirlJenn, and you can find her post here! Seriously, go check her out. She talks about makeup, beauty, lifestyle, and her adorable dog!

Now lets begin!

christmas-tree-decorations-picjumbo-com

1. What is your favorite Christmas film?

I talked a bit about this on a previous post, but Elf is currently my favorite Christmas movie. Yes I love the classics but Elf is just hilarious.

2. Have you ever had a White Christmas?

I have not, sadly. I grew up and lived in San Diego for all but two and a half years, and those two and a half years I’ve been here in Florida. It does snow up in the mountains in Southern California, and it does get cold for Christmas, but it never snowed where I lived. And Florida, I mean, does it know what snow is? I don’t think so.

3. Where do you usually spend your holiday?

Growing up, my parents and I would spend Christmas Eve at my grandparents for dinner. We would open presents at our house Christmas morning, and then we would go back over to my grandparents for a late Christmas breakfast.
Right before we moved out to Florida, the festivities moved from my grandparents to my dads house.

Now that we are out in Florida, we go to either my aunts house, or my grandparents, wherever the party is!

4. What is your favorite Christmas song?

Literally any version of Carol The Bells. I have no idea why I love it so much. It has no childhood memory attached to it, there’s no sentimental something or other, and I don’t know 90% of the words… I think it’s because I made up words for it for my dog. That’s a good enough reason, yes?

5. Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

My wife and I do sometimes. We pick a present for each other to open. Something usually small and cute. And of course, this only happens after hours of deciding whether or not we should open one.

6. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Thanks to Rudolph’s song, yes. But can you?!

7. What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

Is eggnog and rum a tradition? No?

Joking aside, I just love hanging out with family in a Christmas decorated setting. And of course watching whoever ends up with the inevitable gag gift, while they open said gag gift.

christmas-table-decoration-close-up-picjumbo-com

8. Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

We use a fake tree. They don’t smell like pine, but you also won’t find years of pine needles behind or under your couch when you move, and that’s always a plus.

Growing up, we always had a real tree. There were years we found bird nests in them, and as a kid I thought it was the coolest thing. The older I got, I realized that there may have been eggs, or chicks, or birds in these nests before the tree got cut down. As much as I love having real trees, fake trees are so much easier, and you aren’t destroying somethings home. Yes, these trees come from farms, but that doesn’t mean they don’t become homes for animals.

9. What is your all-time favorite holiday food/sweet treat?

Before I went vegetarian, it was always the ham.Also, my grandma on my dads side would make this delicious breakfast casserole with ham and bacon and breakfasty-goodness.
I haven’t had a vegetarian Christmas yet, so I’l let you know! Eggnog and rum

10. Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I was a greedy kid, I wanted all of the gifts from everyone. As I grew up, I realized that giving gifts is even better than receiving gifts! I thought that was just a boring adult thing!

When I was a broke college student, I made gifts for people instead of buying them, and I love the look on peoples faces when they receive a hand made gift. It’s really a lot of fun, and quite heartwarming.

11. What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

If you’re looking for a material item, you’re not going to find it mentioned here. Yes, material items are wonderful to give and receive, but honestly just waking up next to my wife is the best thing I could ask for. Yeah so it happens everyday, but on Christmas we both are excited for a Christmas filled day! I’m cheesy, welcome to my blog.

12. What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

I want to go somewhere and experience a white Christmas! If there’s family there, that’s even better.

13. Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I’m not a pro, but I don’t suck. If I take my time, it might look like something. My mom is the best present wrapper and I will never be that good. I’ve already accepted it.
Gift bags make life easy. Seriously.

14. Most memorable Holiday moment?

I am going to elaborate more on this in a future blog post, but I have plenty as a kid!

 

15. What made you realize the truth about Santa?

You mean the fact that he lives in the North Pole with his reindeer and elves?!

Okay for real, I was about 8 or 9 when I realized Santa and my mom had the same hand writing. I wanted to believe in Santa so much, I blocked that out and played the game until I was bout 11.

16. Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

The only one I stuck with was becoming vegetarian. Other than that, I have failed the long term on all my resolutions. Instead I am trying out having monthly goals instead. My December goals are here! You can certainly break a resolution down into monthly goals, if you do that, I want to see your progress!

17. What makes the holidays special for you?

Spending time with family, eating food, and Christmas decor. Just a combination of all of that is so much fun!

 

What is your favorite part about Christmas, or any other holiday in December? Let me know in the comments!

 

I tag everyone and everyone who wants to do this tag!

 

One thought on “Christmas Tag!

Leave a Reply

