Beauty · Marriage

Makeup Products I Used For My Wedding

 

We all know the advice every woman gives another on their wedding day. No matter how good you are/how good you think you are, DON’T DO YOUR OWN HAIR AND MAKEUP. I contemplated hiring a makeup artist to do my makeup for me, but as the wedding date got closer, the more I didn’t want to spend money on something I knew I could do myself. So, because I’m such a rebel, I decided to do my own makeup.

When it comes to makeup, I go one of two ways. Either no makeup at all, or I do the whole shebang. I’m not the kind of person who can put on just one or two things and feel like my look is complete, no matter how simple the look I’m going for is. I knew since I was going to do this myself, I was going to have to invest in some product, which is fine (I will never turn down a chance to get new eyeliner and lipstick, who are we kidding?).  I planned on doing my “everyday” makeup, simple eye shadow, a winged liner and red lip. It was simple enough for me to do on my own, but looked classy enough for my wedding.

Lot.png

Now I am no expert, I haven’t gone to cosmetology school, my makeup education is from YouTube University, but I’d like to think I have some sort of clue as to what I am doing. My word of advice to anyone looking to branch out in everyday makeup is to buy cheap brands, but don’t skimp out on eyeliner and lipstick, and even sometimes foundation depending on what outcome you’re looking for. Everything else can be cheap, but those ( to me) need to be of higher quality., which you will see in my product descriptions below.

 

Primer

I have gone through foundation primers left and right, several of which I don’t like. My two favorites so far are Smashbox and Milani. I used Milani Prime Shield (under $10) under my foundation for my wedding. It’s much cheaper than Smashbox (about $40+) and has just about the same outcome. It helps my foundation go on smoothly as well as help keep it in place, even with southern Georgia’s humidity in the peak of summer! It also didn’t shine under my foundation, so I didn’t look shiny or oily in my wedding photos.

 

Foundation

Nothing fancy here, I just use the Sephora brand liquid foundation (about $20), applying it with a knock off beauty blender. I’ve used it forever and gives me the perfect coverage I need. They used to come with an eyedropper applicator but the newest bottle is just an open pour top, so I don’t know if they changed the design or if I got a different one… but hey, it still worked!

 

Blush/Foundation/Highlight

Again, I am super cheap on this. I don’t have the Anastasia contour palette or the Kat Von D Shade and Light Pallette (but oh I wish I did), I can’t justify $50 bucks for contouring stuffs. Since I don’t do heavy contouring and really just use enough to bring some color back into my face that my foundation covered, I used a 3-in-1 palette from my favorite $5 store called 5 Below. (I can’t walk out of the place without spending at least $60. I JUST WANT EVERYTHING. This palette has been through hell and back, I’m amazed it’s still in (mostly) one piece. I honestly only use it for the bronzer. I rarely ever use blush, and for my highlight I use a Sephora brand highlight.

 

Eyebrows

Thanks to 2015, I finally have my eyebrows formed into something that doesn’t look like a forest on my face. Also thanks to 2015, if I don’t actually DO my eyebrows, I feel incomplete… so I gotta do them. I’m still on the hunt for that perfect AFFORDABLE eyebrow product, but for now I’m using E.L.F eyebrow kit ($3). It comes with a creme and a pressed powder, as well as a two sided brush. The brush as an angle brush on one side and a fluffy brush on the other. Pretty standard. I love this kit because it goes on right where I want it, and it doesn’t slide everywhere. And I got it for less than $5. Win.

 

Eye Shadow

Eyeshadow.png

Shadow 2.png

If there is one thing I hoard more than lipstick, I would definitely say it’s eye shadow. I can never have enough. While planning my wedding look, I realized I don’t really have that many neutral toned eye shadows… so I had to buy more. I went for the NYX Wicked Dreams eye shadow palette ($15). It has everything from a peachy pink to a black, even a wine red (Halloween anybody?), and of course a teal that I wanted but will never wear. I used several of these colors to achieve a minimal look.

 

Eyeliner

liner.png

Okay, this is one of the products I wish I had bought sooner. Whenever I do eyeliner, I do a winged eye 99.9% of the time. I can’t NOT do one. They go with every look, light, dark, neutral, elegant.. Just AGH THEY ARE AMAZING. The hard part of the winged liner is, you guessed it, the wing. For me personally, I find using a liner brush is way easier than a liquid liner or even a felt tipped liner. When I saw the Tarte Tarteist Clay Paint Eyeliner ($24), I knew I had to have it. It comes in a tube with a “painters palette” to apply the liner to your brush. The brush it comes with is an angled liner brush (where the bristles are small and the brush handle is actually angled) and it helps get that perfect wing as well as help get the liner in the nooks and crannies between eyelashes. Its a clay liner, so it will NOT budge with sweat or water. Its perfect.

 

Mascara

The mascara I am currently using is the Maybelline Colossal Mascara. It’s the yellow one… I can’t tell you exactly which mascara it is since all the lettering came off the package. It’s your basic drug store black, washable mascara. I love it because it’s cheap, and it coats the lashes without turning my lashes into spider lashes.

 

Lipstick

Lipstick.png

Now I won’t dive too far into this because I’m going to dedicate an entire post about this lipstick, but I was looking for a liquid lipstick that would last through the wedding. You know, the kisses, the cake, the wine. I have about a million red lipsticks (they are all different I swear) but none were going to work for the wedding. It was a toss up between Kat Von D and Jeffree Star. I went into my local Ulta thinking they sold Kat Von D (Spoiler Alert: they don’t) but I didn’t want to leave empty handed. I started looking at the lipsticks they had there. The consultant told me the most comparable to Kat Von D was Stila and Anastasia Beverly Hills, so I got ABH in American Doll. It was, for a lack of a better word, perfection. The exact red I wanted, the exact staying power I needed, and a brand I’ve never tried before!

 Setting Spray

So I may have gone a *little* overboard with setting spray and powder, but if you have been in the south in the midst of summer, you wouldn’t blame me. I started with a Sephora brand setting powder and finished with the Urban Decay Setting Spray I got from Sephora as a gift (between my wife I and I, we probably spend way too much money at Sephora.). These two products really saved my life, my makeup looked flawless all night.

 

Did you do your own wedding makeup? What is your favorite eyeliner?

Thank you for reading!

 

I am not being paid by any of the mentioned companies to make this blog post. I purchased evey product with my own money. The opinions in this blog post are strictly my own and I am not affiliated with any of these companies.

 

One thought on “Makeup Products I Used For My Wedding

Leave a Reply

