Marriage

Story Time: My Wedding Weekend 

IMG_7046

It seems like it could have been yesterday, but Catherine and I got married a little over two weeks ago! But really, we got married on July 23rd, 2016. If you haven’t already, you can read the story about how she proposed to me. It’s actually quite funny.

We got married at the lighthouse at the Tybee Island Light Center just outside of Savannah Georgia. It was absolutely beautiful. Not going to lie, this post is a bit lengthy so grab a snack and make yourself comfy!

Thursday 7/21

We arrived in Savannah on Thursday where we met my dad, stepmom and my aunt for lunch at the Wilkes House. I haven’t seen them since I visited California back in 2014 so it was really nice to see them again! The Wilkes House used to be a boarding house that is now several large dining rooms! They seat you at a table with up to 12 people with a smorgasbord of delicious Southern food! If you’re ever in the Savannah area, I highly recommend this place.

The remainder of the day, we got our marriage license, met with other family coming in from different places, and headed down to River Street to go be tourists with my dad, stepmom and aunt. I will be uploading a vlog about this day, including a tour of our BEAUTIFUL AirBNB. so stay tuned to my YouTube channel.

Friday 7/22

Catherine and I started the day nice and quietly with a breakfast cafe near our AirBNB. Friday didn’t get too crazy up until the rehearsal. The wedding rehearsal was where all of our parents finally met each other! Ya know, it wasn’t until we filled out the marriage license that we realized all of our parents are in different states!  Everyone at the rehearsal were in great moods which made everything easy. Everybody was laughing and being silly.

For the rehearsal dinner, we went to my father-in-law’s AirBNB and we all made home-made pizzas! That was a family tradition on Catherine’s side since before she was born, so we decided to keep it going. Family talked, shared stories, saying I had a blast is quite an understatement.

After dinner, Catherine, her sisters, one of her nieces (and her boyfriend), our Officiant (who is actually a really good friend of ours) and I went out to a bar and then walked over to the beach.There really isn’t anything quite like being at a normally-busy-beach at 11:30 at night. There was almost no one there, the air was perfect and the water was warm… the alcohol probably helped.

Saturday 7/23 WEDDING DAY

Okay so this is the part of the post you’ve been waiting to read, I know. I’ve been dying to write it!

Catherine stayed the night at her dads place while I stayed at the AirBNB. The wedding wasn’t until 6:00 PM, and everything was already done. All I had to do was my hair and makeup (which I did myself). It was a lot of waiting around trying to calm my excitement for the night to come. I almost didn’t even know what do to with myself. Go to the beach? No because with my luck I’d get sun-burned before the wedding. Go get food? We had plenty of food at the house we were at. Go shopping? Nope, we needed money for the bartender still. I decided to stay and hang out in the house, mostly on the swinging bed/bench thing.

13731583_10153882552917462_1767907053197906323_n

It came time to do my hair. First curl with the wand, I burned myself. I almost regretted not having someone else do my hair and makeup, but I pushed through it. I took my time since I started entirely way too early. My biggest worry was messing up my winged eyeliner. I legit was almost more nervous about that than actually getting married.

13775463_10153863094438037_4923052893324233950_n

Hair. Done. Makeup. Done. It became more and more of a waiting game… until it was time to leave for the venue! I was so worried about leaving something behind, I’m surprised I didn’t leave late!

We got my dress on, we finalized my makeup, took a few pictures and it was time to go!

I will never forget the first time I saw Catherine that day, waiting for me. At that moment, all of my jitters went away, I knew I was doing the right thing. It really couldn’t have been more perfect.

IMG_7194

More pictures, food, dancing, more food, and more dancing describes the rest of the night. We had our first dance together, and it immediately went into the father-daughter dance. We did them together, and after a minute or two, our dads even decided to dance with each other! Easily one of my favorite moments from the reception.

We went home that night so excited to finally be married, and not having to plan a wedding anymore. It’s only been two weeks, but I already can’t wait for the rest of our lives together.

I will soon post some of my favorite pictures from the wedding, because words really can’t do it justice, so stay tuned for that 🙂

Thank you all for reading ❤

 

 

4 thoughts on “Story Time: My Wedding Weekend 

Leave a Reply

